My Tattoos

When I was 18 I got my first tattoo. I designed it with lots of symbolism.

  • the pentacle: penta=5 sided star, cle=circle so five sided star in a circle. This is not a symbol of evil, but instead a symbol of the elements. Earth, Air, Fire, Water, Spirit, and the circle uniting them is the God and Goddess.
  • the horns: the God’s horns
  • the moons with the circle: the Goddess
  • the rune algiz is a protection rune
  • algiz together with the horns, and circle of the pentacle, makes the symbol for Mercury, my birth planet
  • the algiz and the circle also make the symbol for Venus but with arms up like an arrow because I’m a demiboy (previously tomboy)
  • the wings are the wings of Athena’s owl, also protecting, but giving wisdom
  • the spirals going widdershins (counter clockwise) banish negative energy around me
  • the spirals going deocil (clockwise) bring positive energy around me
  • the black also banishes, and the blank space to be white also draws

Then there’s my Pink Ink Day tattoo of a butterfly with a pink ribbon for breast cancer awareness. I got this in October 9, and within a month my Uncle passed.

Pink Ink Tattoo (I reacted to the pink and the bright fuschia all came out)

I got three tattoos this past year from Korrine. My arrow tattoo again has lots of symbolism. The arrow point is a point I dug up on my dig when I was studying archaeology in university. The broken string represents breaking free from what’s holding me back, and the 5 leaves are me and my immediate family members. 5 is also my lucky number. It is also to remind me that “An arrow can only be shot by pulling it backward. So when life is drawing you back with difficulties, it means it’s going to launch you into something great. So just focus and keep aiming.” ~ Green Arrow

Arrow Tattoo (L forearm)

My second tattoo that day was a circular Gallifreyan tattoo with my kids names. I’m a huge fan of Doctor Who, and it seemed right to have their names in this way.

Circular Gallifreyan tattoo (R bicep, Korbin top R, Amberle top L, Kahlen bottom)

My third tattoo that year was my semicolon tattoo. I’m sure you’ve heard of the semicolon tattoo movement, and also that it’s founder recently lost her life to suicide. I have so far not lost this battle, and on November 11, I went and got my water colour semicolon poppy tattoo. I’m still here.

About StillKeepingAfloat

I'm a mother of 3, wife of 1 man, teacher since I was 13, entrepreneur born, lover of life and all it entails, a minimalist at heart, and an Earth crusader through and through. To read my full bio, go to http://www.StillKeepingAfloat.com/Intro .
This entry was posted in Body Modification and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment